#1 Ben Here

Ben Here

Introducing of Ms. Terri

• Regulars
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Interests:Music, teaching, cooking, travel

Posted 21 June 2011 - 07:17 PM

A quick background on me- grew up in a moderately musical household, and followed my older sister into the world of public school band. I decided I liked it so much, I'd continue with my music education into college at Ohio State. A few years later, I'm now an active music teacher and band director.

That being said, I've come into contact with many different types, styles and approaches to music over the years. I truly enjoy many different flavors of music, and don't believe in limiting "good" music to qualifiers such as simple/complex.

On topic- if there's any interest, I was hoping to dive into some of the technical and theoretical aspects of The Dear Hunter's music. Allow me to clarify that I don't believe the band's works are good because of any particular technique or style, but rather I hope to simply examine some of those approaches used by Casey and the band.

I'm by no means an authority on the subject, but I'm looking for some of the neat, geeky things you may have noticed or even discussed with the band in their music. :)

For example...
-The intro to 1878 is a moderate 7/8 (before transitioning into 6/8), which I can only assume was an intentional nod to the title, or vice versa
-Many themes get revisited in the story arc, like the "sing softly" lines. I really enjoy the chorus in Bitter Suite 3, and it gets a reprise in Vital Vessel Vindicates.

All thoughts and input more than welcome.

#2 search

search

The Man

• Regulars
  • Pip
  • 110 posts
  • Interests:Doing stuff and stuff...yeah.

Posted 21 June 2011 - 07:25 PM